Originally published at Yahoo Sports 

Since moving from New York to San Francisco in 1958, the Giants, who won five championships in the Big Apple, have appeared in four World Series. They lost in their first three World Series but finally brought a championship home to the City by the Bay in 2010.

Here’s a brief look at San Francisco’s World Series history:

World Championships: 1 (2010).

The 2010 Giants, an improbable collection of rejects, misfits and extraordinary pitching, were underdogs heading into the Series after upsetting the Philadelphia Phillies in the NLCS. But the G-Men had little trouble dispatching the Texas Rangers in five games. Highlights included Ian Kinsler’s “almost home run” in Game 2, Edgar Renteria’s home run in Game 5, and the stellar pitching of the Giants’ staff, capped off by closer Brian Wilson recording the final out in Game 5.

National League Pennants: 4 (1962, 1989, 2002, 2010).

In 2002, the Giants faced the Anaheim Angels in the Fall Classic. It marked the first time that two wild-card teams had played each other for the World Series. After splitting the first four games of the Series, the Giants’ offense, led by Jeff Kent’s two home runs, exploded in a 16-4 Game 5 victory. The Giants had the champagne on ice after taking a 5-0 lead into the seventh inning of Game 6, but the Angels staged an improbable rally, winning 6-5. They rode that momentum and stunned the Giants by winning Game 7– and the Series.

The 1989 World Series, the “Battle of the Bay,” will always be remembered as the Earthquake Series. After winning the first two games at home in Oakland, the AL champion Athletics crossed the Bay Bridge to take on the Giants at Candlestick Park. But just before Game 3, the massive 6.9 Loma Prieta quake struck. It was captured live on television, but nobody in Candlestick then knew just how widespread and severe the damage was. The quake killed 67 people, and the Series was postponed while the Bay Area dealt with the tragedy. When the Fall Classic returned, the A’s completed a four-game sweep of the Giants.

In 1962, the Giants’ road to the World Series led to Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles, where the G-Men first had to win a three-game regular season tiebreaker series that determined who would win the NL pennant. Led by the great Willie Mays, who hit a pair of home runs in Game 1, the Giants defeated their longtime rivals and then faced the formidable New York Yankees in the World Series. Whitey Ford set the tone for the Yanks by pitching a complete-game victory in Game 1. Willie McCovey’s monster home run and 24-game winner Jack Sanford grounded the Bronx Bombers in a Game 2 shutout. The Yanks edged the Giants in Game 3 before dropping Game 4. The teams traded victories over the next two games, forcing a decisive Game 7 in which Willie McCovey’s blistering line drive — which would have won the Series for the Giants — was deftly snagged by Bobby Richardson to end the game.

NL West Titles: 8 (1971, 1987, 1989, 1997, 2000, 2003, 2010, 2012).

Wild Cards: 1 (2002)